RSS

52 Weeks of Organizing

28 Feb

I always need help getting (and keeping) my house organized.  Since moving, I’ve done a pretty good job of not letting things pile up too much upstairs.  The downstairs finished basement is another story since it’s been where the boxes that can’t stay in the garage end up.  It’s also my office, Chris’s office, the playroom and the family room with the big TV and the DVR.

Still, we have only been here for a few months and are still unpacking.   I’ve taken it slowly because I refuse to have stuff everywhere.  When I unpack something, I want to be able to find a place to put it.  If I can’t, or I don’t need it, out it goes.

With all the unpacking and organizing (and reorganizing) going on, I’ve found two sites that have some great tips and/or encouragement.  One is Orgjunkie, which I have known about for a while through OpenSky.  I had never actually been to the site, and finally got there tonight.  There is a series of posts on organizing throughout a whole year, taking on one small project each week.  I think that’s a good way to deal with all the unpacking and sorting and decorating, so I’m following along with the posts now.  The series is from last year, but I’m just starting at week one and working from there.

Now, that’s a great idea for the long-term stuff, but what about the more immediate concerns?  I can’t have the laundry pile up or the counter become a paperwork nightmare because it’s not the right week to handle it.  There are some things that need to be dealt with now, and regularly.  Enter in “Unf*** Your Habitat,” a Tumblr blog that encourages, threatens and–if necessary–just plain scares you into behaving and getting things done.  Their slogan is “Terrifying motivation for lazy people with messy homes.”  Oh yeah, that’s definitely for me.

Between the two, and just my need to keep my nice new house…well, NICE, I’m keeping up with all the laundry and dishes and regular washing of floors that just does not come naturally to me.  Not that I don’t know what to do, but I never really learned this stuff.  As a teenager, my job was to keep my grades up at school.  I had two chores at home:  dusting and washing/putting away any dishes there when I got home from school.  I still hate doing dishes, but I’m good at it.  I can dust like a madwoman.  For everything else, I learned once I moved out on my own.

So while my adventures in organizing may not be as much of an adventure for some of you, I’m betting there are plenty of you out there who could use the push to get moving too.  Feel free to join in, comment if you want to and let me know how things are going.

For this week, check out Orgjunkie’s intro post from her 52-week challenge, and the post for week one.  Print out the 52-Week Checklist if you’d like, and let me know where you’re starting your first week.  I’m still deciding where to start, but I’ll post again as soon as I know.

Well?  GET MOVING!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 28, 2012 in Blogging, Cleaning, Motivation, Organizing

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “52 Weeks of Organizing

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 195 other followers

